Study rules

Rules of the third cycle of studies in accordance with the Bologna principles may be found at the following link: RULES OF THE THIRD CYCLE OF STUDIES/ DOCTORAL STUDIES IN COMPLIANCE WITH THE BOLOGNA PRINCIPLES Here, you can find more information on realisation of doctoral studies.
Doctoral studies are organised as the third cycle of studies which represents the continuation of the first and second cycle of studies.
Doctoral studies are realised as follows:
-    1st study year- I and II semester
-    2nd study year- III and IV semester
-    3rd study year- V and VI semester
According to the European Credit Transfer System (ECTS), doctoral study programmes are worth 180 ECTS credits in total, i.e. 30 ECTS credits per semester (six semesters- 30 ECTS credits each).
According to the European Credit Transfer System (ECTS), students gain 300 ECTS credits during their previous education when entering doctoral studies (180 ECTS credits during the first cycle of studies- Bachelor’s studies and 120 ECTS credits during the second cycle of studies- Master’s studies).
Upon completion of the dissertation defence, students acquire 180 ECTS credits, i.e. 480 ECTS credits in total during all three cycles of studies.


Complete the form below, and we'll send you an e-mail every now and again with all the latest news.

Contact Us

Contact us for more information.

  • Tel: +387 (0) 30 509 750

Let's Connect

We're on Social Networks. Follow us & get in touch.

You are here: Početna STUDY PROGRAMMES Doctoral studies Study rules